Thursday, June 29, 2017

John Mellencamp

Artist:  John Mellencamp
Also Known As:  John Cougar
Born:  October 7, 1951.  Seymour, Indiana, USA
Genre:  Rock, Heartland Rock, Roots Rock, Folk Rock, Hard Rock, Rock 'N' Rock, Contemporary Rock, Americana
Occupations:  Musician, Singer, Songwriter
Instruments:  Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica

John Mellencamp (John Cougar) is an American Rock Singer, Songwriter, Musician, and Actor.  He began his career in the late 1970s as Bruce Springsteen called him Johnny Cougar.  He created his own style of the Heartland Rock of Bruce Springsteen, Tom Petty and Bob Seger,  starting in 1982, he has Top 10 Singles, including "Hurts So Good", "Jack & Diane", "Crumblin' Down", Pink Houses", Lonely Ol' Night", "Small Town", "R.O.C.K. In The USA", "Paper In Fire" and "Cherry Bomb".  He sold over 40 million albums worldwide and has amassed 22 Top 40 Hits in the USA.  He has been nominated for 13 Grammy Awards, winning one.  He was inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame on March 10, 2008.  His biggest musical influences are Bob Dylan, Woody Guthrie, James Brown and The Rolling Stones.

Title:  Sad Clowns & Hillbillies  (2017)
Genre:  Rock, Heartland Rock, Roots Rock, Folk Rock, Hard Rock, Rock 'N' Rock, Contemporary Rock, Americana
Label:  Republic Records
Rating:  *****


 1.  Mobile Blue  (3:04)
 2.  Battle Of Angels  (3:58)
 3.  Grandview  (feat. Martina McBride)  (3:52)
 4.  Indigo Sunset (feat. Carlene Carter)  (3:32)
 5.  What Kind Of Man Am I (feat. Carlene Carter) (4:10)
 6.  All Night Talk Radio  (5:09)
 7.  Sugar Hill Mountain (feat. Carlene Carter)  (3:08)
 8.  You Are Blind (3:21)
 9.  Damascus Road  (feat. Carlene Carter)  (4:16)
10. Early Bird Cafe  (4:07)
11. Sad Clowns  (2:42)
12. My Soul's Got Wings  (feat. Carlene Carter)  (2:58)
13. Easy Target  (2:45)


John Mellencamp:  Lead Vocals, Background Vocals, Guitar
Carlene Carter:  Duet Vocals, Background Vocals
Andy York:  Acoustic & Electric Guitars
Mike Wanchic:  Acoustic & Electric Guitars
John Gunnell:  Bass
Dane Clark:  Drums
Miriam Sturm:  Violin
Troye Kinnett:  Keyboards

Additional Musicians:

Lily & Madeleine:  Background Vocals on Track 5
Christie Brinkley:  Background Vocals on Tracks:  5, 12, Clapping on Track 12
Toby Myers:  Electric Bass on Tracks:  3, 6
Stan Lynch:  Drums on Track 3
Izzy Stradlin:  Electric Guitar on Track 3
Kenny Aronoff:  Drums, Percussion On Track 6
Martina McBride:  Duet Vocals on Track 3

Sad Clowns & Hillbillies is the 23rd studio album by John Mellencamp, was released on April 28, 2017 by Republic Records, featuring Carlene Carter, Martina McBride Izzy Stradlin, Kenny Aronoff.

No comments :

Post a Comment