Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Ella Fitzgerald

Artist:  Ella Fitzgerald
Born:  Ella Jane Fitzgerald.  April 25, 1917.  Newport News, Virginia, USA
Died:  June 15, 1996  (Aged 79).  Beverly Hills, California, USA
Genre:  Jazz, Swing, Bebop, Traditional Pop, Vocal Jazz, Blues,
Occupation:  Singer, Actress
Instruments:  Vocals

Ella Fitzgerald was an American Jazz Singer often referred to as the First Lady Of Song, Queen Of Jazz and Lady Ella.  She was arguably the Finest Female Jazz of All Time (although some may vote for Sarah Vaughan or Billie Holiday).  She found stability i musical success with the Chick Webb Orchestra, performing across the country, and often associated with the Savoy Ballroom in Harlem.  Her musical collaborations with Louis Armstrong.  Duke Ellington, and The Ink Spots were some of her most notable acts outside of her solo career.  Her influence lived on through her fourteen Grammy Awards.

Title:  Ella Swings GentlyWith Nelson  (1993)
Genre:  Jazz, Swing, Bebop, Traditional Pop, Vocal Jazz, Blues,
Label:  Verve Records
Rating:   *****


 1.  Sweet And Slow  (3:17)
 2.  Georgia On My Mind  (3:32)
 3.  I Can't Get Started  (3:34)
 4.  Street Of Dreams  (3:13)
 5.  Imagination  (3:48)
 6.  The Very Thought Of You  (2:48)
 7.  It's A Blue World  (2:46)
 8.  Darn That Dream  (2:33)
 9.  She's Funny That Way  (3:16)
10. I Wished On The Moon  (2:46)
11. It's A Pity To Say Goodnight  (2:37)
12. My One And Only Love  (3:15)
13. Body And Soul  (3:45)

Bonus Tracks: 

14. Call Me Darling  (3:36)
15. All Of Me  (3:22)


Ella Fitzgerald:  Vocals

Nelson Riddle's Orchestra:

Nelson Riddle:  Arranger, Conductor

Ella Swings GentlyWith Nelson is an album by Ella Fitzgerald, originally released in 1962 by Verve, remastered and reissued on July 20, 1993 by Verve Records.

No comments :

Post a Comment