Sunday, October 16, 2016

The Byrds

Artist:  The Byrds
Origin:  Los Angeles, California, USA
Genre:  Folk Rock, Country Rock, Rock, Folk, Folk Pop, Psychedelic Rock, Contemporary Pop

Original line-up:

Roger McGuinn:  Lead Guitar, Banjo, Moog Synthesizer, Vocals
Gene Clark:  Tambourine, Rhythm Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals
David Crosby:  Rhythm Guitar, Vocals
Chris Hillman:  Bass, Rhythm Guitar, Mandolin, Vocals
Michael Clarke:  Drums

The Byrds were an American Folk Rock and Country Rock Band from Los Angeles, California, formed in 1964 by Roger McGuinn (Vocals, Guitar), Gene Clark (Vocals, Guitar), David Crosby (Vocals, Guitar), Chris Hillman (Bass, Vocals), and Michael Clarke (Drums).  The band attained the huge success of The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, and The Beach Boys and their early days they were melding the influence of Bob Dylan and The Beatles with Contemporary and Traditional Folk Music.  They pioneered the musical Genre of Folk Rock, also Country Rock.  The band's signature blend of clear Harmony Singing and Roger McGuinn's Jangly Twelve-String Rickenbacker Guitar has continued to be influential on Popular Music upto the present day.  The band's classic hits:  "Mr. Tambourine Man" (cover version of Bob Dylan), and "Turn, Turn, Turn" (cover version of Pete Seeger), and "I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better", "Eight Miles High", "So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star", "Ballad Of Easy Rider", "Chestnut Mare" and many more!.  In 1991, The Byrds were inducted into The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

Title:  Fun In Frisco  (2016)
Genre:  Folk Rock, Country Rock, Rock, Folk, Folk Pop, Psychedelic Rock, Contemporary Pop
Label:  Zip City
Rating:   ****


 1.  Old Blues  (3:23)
 2.  My Back Pages/B.J. Blues/Baby What You Wants Me To Do (6:32)
 3.  Mr. Spaceman  (3:26)
 4.  Time Between  (2:37)
 5.  Goin' Back  (4:25)
 6.  Blue Suede Shoes  (1:58)
 7.  He Was A Friend Of Mine  (2:55)
 8.  So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star (Version 1) (2:34)
 9.  Drug Store Truck Driving Man (5:12)
10. This Wheel's On Fire  (5:07)
11. Stanley's Song  (3:11)
12. Pretty Boy Floyd  (3:57)
13. Eight Miles High  (5:53)
14. You Don't Miss Your Water  (3:42)
15. So You Want To Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star (Version 2) (3:27)
16. Hickory Wind  (4:00)
17. King Apathy III  (4:11)
18. Bad Night At The Whiskey  (2:25)
19. Nashville West  (1:53)


Roger McGuinn:  Acoustic Guitar, Banjo, Vocals
John York:  Bass, Harmony Vocals
Clarence White:  Electric Guitar
Gene Parsons:  Drums

Fun In Frisco is the live album by The Byrds, was released on May 6, 2016 by Zip City.  FM Broadcast from The Avalon Ballroom, San Francisco, California, November2, 1968.

No comments :

Post a Comment